the half-smile

the half-smile

I’m the person you see on the train,
in the park
or
in the bar.
mystified and dignified, I say nothing.
you are the one who half-smile.
insecure and vulnerable.
will I be the one you want to be with?
Will I want to be with you?

and that’s why it’s not a complete smile.
There’s that uneasiness.
The feeling of maybe, what if, i hope so

one day, your heart will hold too much.
it’ll carry too much and it’ll break.
you become that person

I see on the train,
in the park
and in the bar.

I will smile at you.
Will you know what that means?
Will you do anything about it?

cnw

Leave a Reply

