Film review: New York, I Love You, directed by many directors

Film review: New York, I Love You, directed by many directors

Coming home after a full day’s work and feeling too tired to do anything else; the only thing that comforts me tonight is Chinese take-out food and watching a movie.  The thing I love about films is that it’s long enough for me to get lost within it and gives me a sense of fulfillment because it has a resolution; unlike television, in which it ends in cliff-hangers sometimes.  After many years of its release, I have finally watched the film New York, I Love You (the link leads to the Wikipedia page of the film).  I had a vague idea of what this film was about and even that was completely off from what the film actually was.  Generally speaking, this film was a bit confusing, yet an intriguing film.  This film was composed of a series of stories focusing on mainly two characters.  Love plays a role in each of these vignettes.  No two stories were alike.

Stylistically, the film was amazing and at times, outstanding.  I remember thinking how I loved every shot of the film.  I wanted to keep each shot and frame them in an art gallery.  The photograph from the photo booth, the close-up on Natalie Portman’s face or the shot with the man standing on the street waving the girl goodbye.  New York looked raw, chaotic and beautiful.  Each character shared a uniqueness with each of their different backgrounds.  I even enjoyed the random insert of a cartoon in one of the scenes; even if it didn’t make much sense….

…which brings me to my next thought.  After researching a little online, it seems that New York, I Love You didn’t quite make a good impression on some critics.  For me, the film didn’t have enough of a strong plot or maybe the film was too artistic and stylistic that it failed to convey their messages for each of the short films.  I found myself wanting to understand these characters and trying to figure out what their motives were.  They were strangers to me when the film started and they were strangers to me when the film ended.  I had a film teacher tell me and my classmates once that a good film is one that makes you forget you’re watching a film.  Or, maybe I remembered wrong, but my point is that I felt like an audience member.  I felt like an observer and I wasn’t able to care enough about the characters for me to enjoy the film as much as I could have.  There were too many loose ends and disjoints in story lines.  How did that character die?  Why is she with him?  What did this character represent?  I’m still wondering what the answers are.  It’s funny that I started watching this film over television because I thought it’d give me closure and resolution, but only the opposite happened.  Maybe I’m not used to this film style.

Overall, this film was enjoyable and fun to watch; especially if you’re a huge fan of celebrities.  There were so many well-known actors and actresses in this film.  It was like bumping into old college classmates in NY.  I was especially surprised to see Shia LaBeouf and Ethan Hawke.  Having just gone to NY a few months ago, it gave me a little sense of familiarity, as well.  I even stood on the very spot at Central Park for one of the shots of the film.  Lastly, I enjoyed seeing the underlining diverse cultures of NY.  There are many lovers of New York and in New York.  This film will introduce you to some of them.

cnw

Leave a Reply

