CD review: Heavier Things by John Mayer

Heavier Things is the only CD I have of John Mayer.  I bought it at a thrift store for a dollar or two and to this day, it’s one of the best CDs I have ever purchased.  (And I am a huge CD fan).  When I encounter a gem of a find like this one, I cherish it because it makes me believe in the magic of reality.  I learned of Mayer around the same time I discovered Jason Mraz.  Although Jason Mraz is one of my favorite singers, I have a special kind of respect for Mayer.

The CD itself is creative as reflected of the songwriter.  A cover photo of him standing with his guitar looking at us without any force towards any one facial expression keeps things simple and obvious.  The CD booklet is interesting.  Not only does he provide the lyrics (which I love), there’s also a symbol map identifying where he was when he wrote the song.  I like knowing about the background information of a person and such things they care about.  I think it says a lot without saying much at all.

A lot of my favorite songs of Mayer are actually on this CD.  Interesting enough, the one song that would be considered one of his most popular, Daughters, is actually one of my least favorite.  There is no particular reason except that the others were higher in lyric value and also musical depth;  there was less directness and more ease.  Or, maybe it was just overplayed.  When I hear his other songs in his later years, I always prefer these ones.  I’m not sure what the differences are; they just feel different.

One of the main reasons I play this CD is simply because it calms me.  I don’t know John Mayer personally.  I don’t know what he’s known for or if he’s nice or mean or happy or what, but when I think about the songs he has created, I believe he’s a man who’s done a lot of life.  He sings with purpose, with feeling, with honesty and with a stillness that changes the whole mood of the room.

I appreciate the diversity and variety of music this CD presents.  I think Mayer is a unique artist and he is definitely a thoughtful guy with words like his. It’s easy to fall into the melody of his music and time.

cnw

Leave a Reply

