in the old nights

You & me, we walked
In the dark streets
Of Boston.
We dressed our attire.
And made sure our
Stomachs were full
Of warmth.
Our eyes were filled with lights.
We were young then.
In the old nights.
When all we thought
Was life was good.
No, it wasn’t.
It was okay.
We knew,
But we didn’t know all.
Not yet.
I acted a lot.
I wanted you to think
I was smart.
And different
And worth it.
And you did too.
We were young then.
In the old nights.
We wanted to have it all.
Do we still?
I think back
Infrequently.
It feels unreal.
As if that wasn’t me.
And that wasn’t you.
I miss these nights.
let’s make them new.

cnw

Leave a Reply

