Television show review: Veronica Mars, created by Rob Thomas

A few weeks ago, my boyfriend and I sat on our semi-comfortable couch and finished the entire series of Veronica Mars (link leads to the Wikipedia page).  With the film debuting in just a few days, we  were just in time.  Although I’ve seen it all in the past, it was worthwhile for me to re-visit and watch along again.  I remember when Veronica Mars first appeared in my life years ago.  I was an impressionable high school girl who was interested in all new things.  Life was both boring with the routine from school, but exciting in that I was developing a taste for culture and knowledge.  The main character of the show, (also a female in high school), grabbed me.  Veronica was witty, funny, smart and strong.  Her beauty was unconventional.  It wasn’t her face that caught my eye at first; it was her passion.

This television show follows Veronica Mars in her adventures of solving crimes in her school, her hometown called Neptune and her own life mysteries that started it all.  Without trying to give anything away, the twists and turns were grade-A cliff-hangers that made me complain that the next season was months away.  I cried some, laughed lots and was entertained always.  This show was a keeper.  Unfortunately, I felt that the final episode wasn’t the best last episode to a television series.  I think it was due to the fact that for the third season, the show wasn’t guaranteed to come back on air, but it wasn’t guaranteed it wasn’t either.  Perhaps the film will make up for all the questions I had since their very last episode.  Needless to say, I am eager to see it soon.  The writing, acting and style made this show one of my favorites of all time.

Great writing happens when there is more showing and less telling.  The characters weren’t typical and predictable.  They had a past that was complex and mysterious, as we all do; at least when we first meet someone.  Veronica Mars wasn’t a rebellious teen for no reason.  Her life started well before the first episode.  It is the audience that gets to play along and figure out the facts.  The story was also well presented.  The writers succeeded in building up the bigger mysteries of the show and concluded them with endings that made sense (albeit, shocking at times).  Although I didn’t completely agree with all the side character story-lines, I appreciated the fact that the characters continued to progress and grow.  An aspect of the writing I cherished the most was the dialogue between characters.  There were lots of quote-able quotes I wished I thought of myself.

The actors and actresses on this show were entertaining and convincing; specifically, Kristen Bell.  I developed a girl-crush on Kristen Bell after this.  There’s so much to say about her, but in short, she is one talented lady.  I was also happy to see her father, played by Enrico Colantoni.  He’s a wonderful actor.  In the past, I’ve only seen him in comedy.  He was at ease in this drama-comedy, as well.  I loved the chemistry between these two; a truly loving and silly father-daughter relationship they had.  It reminds me of the kind of parent-child relationship Lorelai and Rory had in Gilmore Girls.  Some of the supporting characters were cheesy, ironic and one-dimensional, but their existence mattered.  They also gave backbone to the witty, sarcastic and ironic humor this show thrived off of.

Stylistically, this show was dark.  When I say “dark,” I don’t mean it was overly dramatic or overly violent.  Life in Neptune was messy.  Even the song of the opening credits stands out from any other show (I’m referring to the newer one).  It had this cool, serious, comic book vibe (with all the villain, antihero and innocent bystander glory).  Colors, filters and lighting were important.  Along with the right background music, the mood of the scene was inescapable.  It was easy to fall into this show and be one with them.

What’s great and not great about this show is that one has to follow along.  This is not one in which a person can tune in and understand everything that happens or know the characters within one episode.  It takes more commitment than that and it was so worth it.

cnw

Leave a Reply

