Television show review: Sherlock, created by Steven Moffat and Mark Gatiss

Television show review: Sherlock, created by Steven Moffat and Mark Gatiss

This 90-minute episodic series produces seamless story-telling that is arguably better than most 90-minute films out there.  I suppose I should say that I am late to the party, for this show’s been kicking it since 2010.  While dining with my friends a few years ago, one of them suggested I check this show out.  It wasn’t until last week did I finally listen.

This show, starring Benedict Cumberbatch, as Sherlock, and Martin Freeman, as John Watson has smoothly made its way into my heart.  With about three episodes per season, Sherlock has convinced me that I’ve somehow gained a role with this crime-solving duo.  I have this theory that Watson represents me, the audience member, who considers herself fairly normal from the day-to-day; whereas Sherlock, as the character is portrayed on the show, is a little special.  He stubbornly goes his own way, trusts his instincts with his life (and the lives of others) and avoids facing his emotions–he’s also very funny.

Technically speaking, the writing is smart; especially for the first season.  The plot of each episode unravels ever so lightly, sprinkling in just enough clues for us to be tricked, but not enough for the story to be completely off-center.  Of the episodes I’ve watched, there were a few times in which I felt the way Sherlock discovered his clues a bit too convenient and unrealistic.  However, since this show is well-made, it’s easily forgivable.

Speaking of how it’s made, I felt that the whole package of the show is very attractive and for a variety of reasons.  Breaking away from the generic crime show gimmicks of short dialogue and dramatic pauses for no reason, Sherlock draws the audience in with its tight editing shots and presentation.  The chemistry (not romantic) between Sherlock and John is playful and amusing.  Within serious settings and situations, they are able to lighten up the scene, every so often, with their light arguing and back and forth.  The original story lines makes this show fresh and versatile.

My favorite parts are when Sherlock talks a mile a minute when he reveals how a crime was committed or how he discovered new evidence.  I also enjoy the moments when the big surprises are revealed because they’re never disappointments—much like this show.

cnw

4 thoughts on “Television show review: Sherlock, created by Steven Moffat and Mark Gatiss

Leave a Reply

