day 3 – a new America

“We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.”

Day 3 of a reality that is a new America. I wake each morning with stress, concern and worry. I am a woman. I am a minority. My thoughts quickly go to what is all over the media. Politics. Future. Our future. It’s hard to move on. It’s hard to feel normal. Thinking of sustainability and then feeling weird to post here again. To post about something unrelated to politics even though it’s something that has occupied so much of my mind. For a couple of days now, I have been sort of handicapped between so many emotions and the daily life routine. I know I’m not alone in this. There is so much heartache in our country. I feel so shaken to the core and writing allows me the space to make sense of it. I have written so much these past few days. 

“That to secure these rights, Governments are instituted among Men, deriving their just powers from the consent of the governed”

Maybe this isn’t a new America at all. Maybe this has been happening and we just did not see it. We did not believe it. My heart feels this tightness and fear similar to when the Boston Marathon bombing occurred. When I read news articles of gun shootings in our schools. In our country. It is clear that we need change. We need to make changes to our system, our environment and our attitudes. This is our future. Equally important, this is our present. I believe in us. I believe that we can come together to make this a home for all of us. To feel safe and happy. To thrive and progress.

“That whenever any Form of Government becomes destructive of these ends, it is the Right of the People to alter or to abolish it, and to institute new Government, laying its foundation on such principles and organizing its powers in such form, as to them shall seem most likely to effect their Safety and Happiness.”

– The Declaration of Independence
source: http://www.ushistory.org/declaration/document/

I am choosing to move forward with peace; in whatever form it may be. To see it from all sides; from all perspectives. America is a big country with many beautiful cultures, faces, lifestyles and ideas. I feel empowered because I know many of my fellow Americans are ready to make changes. I stand with them. I want to honor those who have fought for our country because they believed in what we stand for. We have to protect it and appreciate it. We must always remember this,

“Be the change you want to see in the world”

– Gandhi

(posted on 11/12/16 at 1am)

2 thoughts on “day 3 – a new America

Leave a Reply

