green tip #8 | sustainability | handmade mini journal with pressed flowers

green tip #8 | sustainability | handmade mini journal with pressed flowers

img_6439
I had a bouquet of flowers nearing their final life stages and I didn’t want to just throw them out. I decided to look up how to press flowers. Unfortunately, I didn’t use fresh ones as many sources suggested, but I did it anyway. I waited a few weeks as they were placed between pages of my huge dictionary stacked under other heavy books and things. I did find a tutorial using a microwave method, which I haven’t done, but I’ll leave the link below. Along with it are a few tutorials of how to make your own journals. Again, I didn’t use these, but will probably some day. I think making journals by hand is great because it’s so versatile and earth loving. I see myself making personalized ones for family & friends as gifts or for myself.

Eco-friendly notes:
-This was made entirely with materials I already had at home and many of which were ones I upcycled.
-Alternative to throwing out flowers is to simply compost.
-Alternative to making your own is to buy from a local vendor who uses eco-friendly practices and materials.

Materials this journal was created from: pressed flowers, cardboard from empty pasta box, junk mail envelopes, scrap paper, unused/blank pages from previous journals/planners, stickers, plastic covering from an old planner, clear packaging tape and string I already had in my craft box.


I love it so much. I’m already using it and know that the materials I used to make it is put to better use.

Some pressed flowers tutorials I found online:

How to Press Flowers (Rookie Magazine)
Pressed Flower Tutorial (Modest Maven, microwave method)

Some journal-making tutorials I found online:

journals (curiously crafty.)
Bind Your Own Book (Instructables)

4 thoughts on “green tip #8 | sustainability | handmade mini journal with pressed flowers

Leave a Reply

