2016

2016

Every year I write a little something about the current year, before it turns into another. I usually have an idea of what I’ll say and feel compelled to write it. This year, however, is one in which I don’t feel the need to. And yet, I am, because I think my future self would really like to get a glimpse of what 2016 meant for me when it was 2016. It was surely an important year for me. So here it goes.

I ended the year 2015 full of emotion. Full of hope and curiosity of what 2016 would bring. Who I would be and where I would go. I guess, for my 2015 self, I would be really proud. I checked off a lot of what I wanted to do this year. To be honest, I wasn’t sure I would be able to, but I definitely had the ambition and it succeeded.

2016 was full of learning for me, but I say this every year I’m sure. It’s truth. I feel calmer, patient and realistic. I am so happy with the posts I created this year. Perhaps this contributed to why I didn’t feel the need to reflect because they presented a true sense of who I have been. I reflected all along the way. I took the time I needed. I created art and grew my cooking skills how I wanted to. I think in the past, I would put all these standards on myself and quantify it somehow by how something looked to me rather than how it mattered in the end.

The world changed a lot in 2016 and I changed with it. I gained so much knowledge in living how I want to live (sustainably), myself, the world and the causes that I believe in. The presidential election was a wake-up call to a lot of us. Brought light to a lot of things that needed to be seen and discussed. I feel awake.

2017–I am curious about you, too. I am eager to see you. 2016 was a lot of growing and I have a feeling 2017 is going to be a similar year, but possibly with even more of me taking actions and welcoming new experiences. We’ll see. Que sera, sera.

Happy New Year friends, may 2017 bring us all a lot of love, happiness, good health and gratitude.

7 thoughts on “2016

Leave a Reply

