the edge

the edge

20160103_161707

You know when you watch a film with a lot of meaning to it and they capture this shot in which no one is seen, but you can feel a very heavy presence of something.. sentiment or emotion or something left behind? I get this feeling a lot when I see the edges of the sun as it sets. When the colors mesh together so beautifully in the sky and taking a photograph of is so pointless because it can never be captured. Although, I still do try often, it’s a truth I’m learning to accept. I have given up a few times now more recently and just enjoyed the view for what is without the camera lens.

There are some memories you don’t need to have physical proof of. I know my parents used to take photographs at only very important events and nowadays, it’s such a common thing to do. The food we eat, the people we see every day and the place we live are captured in a million photographs. I often find myself looking at photographs I’ve taken in the past year, at trips I went on and feel grateful to have documented as I have. But it’s the stories attached to those things that stick out, right? The stories of the moments you want to treasure and know it cannot be replicated.

I know it sounds super random, but I love seeing the day to day of how things were when the photograph was taken. Like with my parent’s photographs, they have taken shots of their old apartment and the old car they used to have or the garden they grew or even the logo of a soda bottle in that time… it’s fascinating to me.

The idea I would like to be is to capture the moments in between; right before the edge is gone but enough to enjoy it, too.

2 thoughts on “the edge

Leave a Reply

