Fashion Revolution Week – who made your clothes?

Fashion Revolution Week – who made your clothes?

To learn more about Fashion Revolution Week, go here: http://fashionrevolution.org/

Source of video: The Fashion Revolution YouTube page: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC0JS74vyisaHej_xEq_zZ1w

Dear handmade blazer,

I remember when I first saw you. I was a child and as children do, I would do little scavenger hunts and fulfilled my curiosities by trying on Mom’s clothes or lipstick or earrings (the clip-ons) and checking out every little crevice of the house because I thought I’d find something really fun or cool.

And I was going through Mom’s clothes and I saw you. I asked Mom where she got you. You were small and you fit me. It reminded me of something a person riding horses would wear and how chic they looked. I wanted to look good.

Mom said that she made you. I didn’t believe her at first. Convinced she made it up because that’s not what she did for work (clearly, I was so naive then). I investigated and didn’t see a tag. Throughout the years, I saw more clothes Mom had made and I knew she made you. She told me how you weren’t really finished and you were a prototype when she was learning to make clothes. But I didn’t care. I loved you and still do.

I wore you to school as a spring/fall jacket. I got compliments and asked where I got you and said my Mom made you. Even then, I knew that other moms didn’t make their clothes and I felt special because mine did (among the many other things that makes my mom awesome). You are not something I can wear anymore, but I still keep you with me. Because you’re something that came out of my Mom’s creativity, her own two hands and her patience and time.  Because you are a reflection of her and I want to cherish that forever.

Love,

Connie

#LovedClothesLast

The clothes you wear were made by someone. Do you know their story? Do you know their name? Support the companies and brands who do know and let you know. Transparency is so important. Be curious. Love the clothes you have and love the clothes you buy. Think more deeply when you make a purchase and where you are buying it from. Make your own. There is power in you to decide where your money goes, who your money supports and the values you care about.

Courage doesn’t always roar. Sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day  saying “I will try again tomorrow.”

-Mary Anne Radmacher

Leave a Reply

